Skip to content

….on a street of broken dreams.

January 6, 2010

It’s hard to believe we’re already six days into 2010.  Forget that, it’s hard to believe it’s even 2010.  But it’s here and we can’t send it back!  I don’t believe in making resolutions, but the optimism of a new year is hard to resist.  It’s so tempting to say, this is going to be MY year, or this is going to be the year I start/stop x, y or z.  I do have things I want to accomplish, but they were already deep-seeded into my head by mid-2009.  The most significant thought I had between Christmas and the end of 2009 was be present.  I think one of the worst things you can do is spend too much time regretting the past and/or worrying about the future.  It’s the greatest disservice you can do to yourself.    That’s when accidents happen, when depression sets in, or when you just forget to turn off things, and then panic all day about it!  So, that’s my pursuit, to be present.  I can’t be overly bothered about the fast or future.  I need to be here, in the now.   Maybe it’s a resolution, but I think I can manage this one.  Take that, 2010!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

